Skip to main content

Marija named 2016 Searle Scholar!

Posted by on Thursday, April 14, 2016 in Uncategorized.

The official announcement from the Searle Scholars Program is out:

Fifteen scientists in the chemical and biological sciences have been named 2016 Searle Scholars. Each researcher is awarded $300,000 in flexible funding to support his or her work during the next three years.

Searle Scholars are selected for their potential to make significant contributions to chemical and biological research over the course of their careers. The Program’s Scientific Director appoints an Advisory Board of eminent scientists who choose the Scholars based on rigorous standards aimed at finding the most creative talent interested in pursuing an academic research career. This year, 196 applications were considered from nominations by 137 universities and research institutions.
“Each of these amazing young scientists is taking cutting-edge approaches to answer fundamental questions in chemistry and the biological and biomedical sciences,” said Dr. Doug Fambrough, Scientific Director. “They have thought deeply about how their discoveries might benefit “people-kind,” as one can even find reflected in the titles of some of their research projects. We expect great things to come from their work, and we are delighted to be able to give an early boost to their careers.”
Sixty-six Searle Scholars have been inducted into the National Academy of Sciences. 16 Scholars have been recognized with a MacArthur Fellowship, known as the “genius grant.” And a Searle Scholar has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.
Since 1981, 572 scientists have been named Searle Scholars. Including this year, the Program has awarded more than $124 million.
About the Searle Scholars Program
Searle Scholars Program is a limited submission award program which makes grants to selected academic institutions to support the independent research of outstanding early-career scientists who have recently been appointed as assistant professors on a tenure-track appointment. Grants are $300,000 for a three-year term with $100,000 payable each year of the grant. Searle Scholars Program is funded through grants from the family trusts to the Chicago Community Trust and administered by Kinship Foundation, the private operating foundation that manages the institutional philanthropy of the Searle Family. For more information about the Searle Scholars Program visit
View the list of the 2016 Searle Scholars.

VU Reporter Announcement